116 Volney St.
Phoenix, NY 13135
FAX: (315) 695-1201 (315) 695-1573 E -mail: info@phoenixcsd.org




News and Articles for Phoenix Central School District.

Phoenix juniors earn scholarships

With a year left until graduation, several John C. Birdlebough High School juniors already received a financial boost for their post-secondary education.

Eighteen scholarships, totaling more than $500,000, were presented during a recent ceremony in the high school auditorium. The financial awards were offered by universities and colleges such as Wells, LeMoyne, Elmira, Rochester and more, and recognized those who excelled in the classroom and as citizens.

“Congratulations to all of our award-winners,” Principal Thomas Bailer said. “Be proud of who you are as a person, be proud as a Firebird, and proud as a member of this community. Continue to work hard and strive for your best and you also will continue to create a bright future.”

The following juniors earned scholarships: Gianna DeRoberts (St. Lawrence University Book Award); Nicole Henry (Clarkson University Leadership Award); Erika Brown (RIT Innovation & Creativity Scholarship Award); Emilie Hilliard (University of Rochester’s Bausch & Lomb Award); Marcus Berube (University of Rochester’s Xerox Innovation & Information Technology Award); Gabriella Allen (Wells College – 21st Century Leadership Award); Megan Hess and Olivia Thrall (Keuka College George H. Ball Community Achievement Award); Declan Hawthorne and Makayla Newvine (Elmira College Key Awards); Joshua Van Gorder and Edward Zellar (Student Sage Awards); Olivia Ripley (Rensselaer Medal Award); Kristine Rowe (Clarkson University Achievement Award);  Wendy Li (University of Rochester’s Frederick Douglas & Susan B. Anthony Award); Alayna Merrill (University of Rochester’s George Eastman Young Leaders Award & Scholarship); Ashley Margrey (RIT Computing Medal & Scholarship Awards); and Mariah Sheirer (LeMoyne College Heights Award).


Photo caption

John C. Birdlebough High School junior scholarship winners gather for a group photo after a recent awards assembly.

JCB seniors earn Dollars for Scholars scholarships

The Phoenix chapter of Dollars for Scholars recently awarded more than $30,000 in scholarships to members of the John C. Birdlebough High School Class of 2018.

Dollars for Scholars Phoenix chapter president Wendy Dunnigan presents a scholarship to Julianne Yates.Chapter President Wendy Dunnigan welcomed students, friends, family and community members to the annual awards night in the high school auditorium. She congratulated the recipients and thanked everyone who contributed to the scholarships.

“For 33 years, we’ve been recognizing outstanding Phoenix students for their academic achievement and community service,” Dunnigan said. “I would like to congratulate all of you, you are all well-deserving of these scholarships.”

Emcee Katherine Bechard also lauded the 31 recipients for their contributions to the greater Phoenix community. She noted the scholarship winners were “committed, thoughtful and persevering,” and encouraged them to continue exhibiting those traits in the future.

“Don’t limit your challenges, but challenge your limits,” she said.

Birdlebough juniors and seniors receive end-of-the-year awards

John C Birdlebough juniors and seniors received thousands of dollars in scholarships at their end-of-the-year awards ceremony.

Principal Gregory Molloy congratulated the students on their tremendous efforts and expressed his pride in the district in regards to the senior prank that occurred that morning; seniors surprised the teachers in the school parking lot and charged them each $1 to park their vehicle. The money raised was donated to Upstate Golisano Children's Hospital in Syracuse.

“There is something really special about Phoenix and this community,” said Molloy. He encouraged the seniors to always remember where they came from.

The Triple “C” Award is presented on behalf of the New York State Office of the Attorney General (Eric T. Schneiderman) and recognizes commitment of a student to better himself, his school and his community; Wyatt Parker was the recipient of this year’s award.

The Herff Jones, Inc. “Believe in You” Principal’s Award exemplifies the ability to combine academic excellence and exemplary leadership in school and community activities. The student leader honored this year was Maria Musumeci.

The following financial awards were also recognized:

 St. Lawrence University Book Award – Marisa Dona; Clarkson University Leadership Award – Kellen Arnold; LeMoyne College Heights Award – Emma Discenza; University of Rochester Xerox Innovation & Information Technology Award – Sarah Hoag; Wells College 21st Century Leadership Award – Brianna Ball; RIT Computing Medal & Scholarship Awards – Mackenzi Berube and Jordan Jock; Student Sage Award Winners – Morgan Stobart and Abigail Venskus; University of Rochester Frederick Douglas & Susan B. Anthony Award – Jolene Zaia; University of Rochester Bausch & Lomb Award – Jonathan Schmidt; University of Rochester George Eastman Young Leaders Award & Scholarship – Derick White; Clarkson University Achievement Award – Michael Sadoski; Elmira College Key Awards – Christopher Nicolella and Lauren Porter; Rensselaer Medal Award – Zachary Van Gorder. 

 Principal Gregory Molloy presents phoenix student Wyatt Parker
with the Triple “C” Award on behalf of the New York State Office
of the Attorney General, Eric T. Schneiderman.